Animal Crossing: New Horizons The Last of Us

Today at the Tokyo Game Show, ten games, among them Animal Crossing: New Horizons and three other Nintendo games, were presented with Awards for Excellency as part of the Japan Game Awards. Of those ten winners, one game received the Grand Award, the highest honor of the show. As mentioned, Nintendo had a solid performance at this year’s presentation – four of the ten honorees are Switch exclusives, and Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the unsurprising recipient of the Grand Award. Check out the full list of honorees below.

  1. Ring Fit Adventure
  2. Persona 5 Royal
  3. Pokémon Sword and Shield
  4. 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim
  5. Death Stranding
  6. Fire Emblem: Three Houses
  7. Monster Hunter World: Iceborne
  8. Yakuza: Like a Dragon
  9. Nioh 2
  10. Animal Crossing: New Horizons

The ten winners are selected by the Japan Game Awards Committee. This year, the Committee selected honorees out of a field of 1036 games nominated by Japanese gamers between April 1, 2019 and March 31, 2020.

You can check out the full presentation below.

What do you think of this list of winners? Any game you think got snuffed? Any that don’t belong up there? Is Animal Crossing: New Horizons worthy of the Grand Award? Let us know what you think in the comments section below.


Andrew Rockett
I'm the Reviews Editor here at Nintendo Enthusiast, and I'm a major fan of all consoles and eras. Follow me on Twitter @habitablestorm3 to talk games old and new.

    You may also like