Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle sequel 2 Sparks of Hope

Secrets are often hard to keep in game development, and occasionally a developer’s project is leaked. This happened to Ubisoft back in 2017 with Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle, and it may have happened again for its sequel. A leaker by the name of PracticalBrush12, who accurately predicted details on Pokémon Legends: Arceus and the Pokémon Diamond and Pearl remakes, posted a thread on Reddit that features a list of “practical predictions” of games to be shown at E3 2021. It concludes with the specifically named Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope. When pressed for if the leaker knows such a game exists, the person responded, “From the legal point of view I’m just guessing some predictions,” and that plus other comments made suggest the list is all actual E3 game leaks.

Furthermore, Niko Partners senior analyst Daniel Ahmad corroborates that all the leaks are accurate.

Meanwhile, Liam Robertson, a video game historian and investigative journalist, has uploaded a new video to his Patreon providing more insight into the situation till now. Nintendo Enthusiast’s Ben Lamoreux was able to watch the video, which provides some insight into the rumored Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle sequel. According to Robertson, a sequel to Mario + Rabbids was planned a while ago, but Ubisoft wanted to restructure the deal it had with Nintendo because it was considerably in the big N’s favor. Interestingly, Ubisoft attempted to pitch the idea to Disney, which supposedly included an idea to created a Rabbids x Star Wars crossover. However, this ultimately went nowhere. At any rate, Robertson has stated, “Sounding increasingly like a new Mario + Rabbids is on the cards and there are some certain other weird Rabbids projects further down the line.”

Ubisoft will be hosting its Ubisoft Forward presentation tomorrow at 3 p.m. ET / noon PT / 8 p.m. BST. If this sequel does exist, it will likely make an appearance tomorrow. There’s also the Nintendo E3 Direct on Tuesday, which will be taking place at noon ET / 9:00 a.m PT / 5 p.m BST. Would you like to see a Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope, if it is indeed the sequel to Mario + Rabbids?

[Source 1/Source 2]

Jaimie Ditchfield
Freelance Writer. Work seen on Zelda Universe and BackToTheGaming. Studied Games Journalism and PR for three years, and is relentless at spreading his love for The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask. The chances are you'll also hear him scream Persona.

You may also like