Sonic the Hedgehog 30th anniversary Sonic Central virtual showcase

Sega’s Sonic Central presentation will kick off later today at 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT/ 5 p.m. BST and will focus on upcoming projects to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Sonic the Hedgehog¬†franchise. It is possible that we will get a sneak peek for the Blue Blur’s next mainline title and much more. You can watch today’s Sonic Central livestream below.

Sonic Central May 2021 bring Sonic the Hedgehog announcements

Recently, listings for an unspecified Sonic Collection surfaced online, and a potential re-release of Sonic the Hedgehog 3 was also rumored last week. Additionally, a remaster of 2010’s Sonic Colors¬†is supposedly in development. Those are all things we may see at Sonic Central. Personally, I’d like to see some sort of follow-up to 2011’s Sonic Generations, which in my opinion is Sonic’s best 3D title. It combined both styles of gameplay to deliver a game that was a love-letter to Sonic fans.

It will be interesting to see whether or not a sequel to 2017’s Sonic Mania is announced. The title released to celebrate Sonic’s 25th anniversary, so a sequel to commemorate another milestone would be nice to see. Roger Craig Smith, the voice of Sonic, announced yesterday that he will be continuing to voice the character in games in any case.

All will be revealed in the Sonic Central presentation soon, though don’t be surprised if a big announcement or two is held back for E3 2021.

Jaimie Ditchfield
Freelance Writer. Work seen on Zelda Universe and BackToTheGaming. Studied Games Journalism and PR for three years, and is relentless at spreading his love for The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask. The chances are you'll also hear him scream Persona.

You may also like